New eHive accounts are set up with the default settings for public access, tagging, comments, image storage and copyright licences. You can change these at any time by going to the Preferences and Data Access section of your account.
To access your Preferences and Data Access settings:
- Click the Account Settings link in the My Account section of your home page.
- Click the Preferences and Data Access link.
Allow Public Access setting
The Allow Public Access checkbox allows you to set your default publishing preference; that is whether you want to make a record public, or keep it as a private record within your account. The selection you make here will dictate which option you see when you save an object record.
If the Allow Public Access checkbox is ticked, when you save an object record the Publish to eHive option will automatically be ticked in the Publish Options window. This setting means that by default your records will be set to be published for all visitors to eHive.com to see.
If you do not tick the Allow Public Access checkbox, the Publish to eHive option will be blank in the Publish Options window. This setting means that by default your records will remain completely private within your eHive account, and visible only to you.
Whenever you save a record, you will always be presented with the Publish Options window. If you change your mind when it comes to publishing a particular record, simply override the default by ticking or unticking the ‘Publish to eHive’ checkbox when saving a record.
Tagging and Commenting Settings
There are three options for allowing users to tag or comment on your records:
- Allow tagging/commenting by users belonging to this account – only you, or users of your account, can perform this function on your records while signed in to your eHive account.
- Allow tagging/commenting by users with eHive accounts – only Account Holders currently signed in to eHive can perform this function on your records.
- Allow tagging/commenting by any public user – anyone who visits eHive is allowed to perform this function on your records.
To update your Tagging and Commenting settings, select your preferred options and click Save.
For more information on tagging and commenting, please see the help topic How to add tags and comments.
eHive can automatically notify you when comments are added to your object record pages. You can choose whether or not you would like to receive these notifications by ticking or unticking the checkbox to enable notifications.
If this checkbox is ticked, every time a comment is added to one of your object records, an email notification will be sent to the email address registered for your account.
You can check or edit your email address by going to Account Settings > Your Details and checking the email field.
When you upload an image to eHive, the system creates several copies of the image, each in a different size. These system generated images are displayed in various places in eHive. For example, thumbnails of the images are used in the Summary view, while larger images are displayed in the Detail view. Your original image is not displayed anywhere on the public website.
You can select whether you would like eHive to store the original images, or discard these once the system copies have been created.
The default setting is to store your originals. You can change this by unticking the checkbox.
If you choose to store your original images you can access these from the detail view of your object records:
Note that you will only see the View Original Image link when you are logged into your account.
For more information on images, please see the help topic Image Specifications and Settings.
Allowing access via the eHive API
This option determines whether your public records and thumbnail images can be shown on third party sites using the eHive Application Programming Interface (API). An example of when you might have selected this is if you were allowing your collection records to be harvested by a larger regional or national aggregator site, like DigitalNZ in New Zealand, Trove in Australia, or Culture Grid and Europeana in the UK and Europe.
3rd party sites do not have access to larger sized images. The copyright licences you have assigned to your records will also determine how these sites can use and redistribute your content.
Default Copyright licence
All eHive object records are assigned a copyright licence which dictates how the information and images they contain may be used. You can select which license you would like to use as your default in the Preferences and Data Access section.
Collectors (both individuals and cultural organisations) often hold objects or images for which they do not own the copyright, and therefore need to assign an appropriate copyright licence on a case by case basis. Your default license can be easily overridden for certain records if you wish.
Full details on copyright in eHive and a description of the available licences can be found in the next Help topic, Copyright licences.